My Last Chance to End Strong

So far, the season has been going very well, I had finally broken 5:30 in the mile, but like last year I have reached a skill cap in my mile time: 5:20. However, my 800 meter time has improved a lot since my 2:24 at the last meet I talked about on here. It is now 2:18, which I believe I can run way faster because I ran the first lap in about 1:10, then proceeded to move from last place to 6th place in a 18 person race, dropping a 1:07 high last lap in order to finish under 2:20. My 3200 meter time also improved by more than a minute going from 13:13 from last year to 12:04 last Friday. I do believe I could have gone well under 12 if I had run it on fresh legs, but I won’t be able to because that was my final race for the 3200.

Trabuco Hills Distance Carnival is where I broke 2:20, (I am 6th place)

But what I am trying to say, is that I have messed up a lot this season. I have caught a lot of illness and taken many days off because of that. I feel as if my full potential was not reached, and my friend, who started off at the same level as me, has surpassed me significantly. I have fallen behind. I am nowhere near I wanted to be at the beginning of the season. I am getting worried that I won’t be able to make varsity my junior year.

This is a picture of me on the White Sands of New Mexico (just want this here cause it’s cool)

Still, I have one more chance at reaching my goals, which will be league finals for me. Last Friday I participated in prelims and barely managed to qualify for all the events that you needed to make in order to go to finals. Even after tapering, which is basically just running less, I still felt sore and did not feel I was running at my best. Nonetheless, I still managed to pr in both the 1600 and 3200. So I believe if I can focus up and commit to going hard on both the 1600 and 800 this Friday, I think I can reach my goals.

Wish me luck,

Arturo

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started